Posts Tagged ‘Cut Copy’

Melt! Festival 2011

08:24 PM

As already in the year of  2009 and 2010 we presented you the most important and current information directly from the Melt!-Festival. In contrast to the last years the festival returned the his roots. But this wasn’t a reason for the people to stay away. And so the melt! was sold out early ago. Despite of the electronical renaissance with Paul Kalkbrenner, The Koletzkis, DJ Kotze, Boys Noize and many more the headliner were well know Indie-Legeneds: Pulp. This gallery will take you on a short tour through all days and stages at the Melt!.

[nggallery id=87]

photo: Christoph Paul

Cut Copy : Need You Now

09:00 AM

How about some new new-romanticism straight from Australia? Cut Copy have released “Need You Now”, the second single from their upcoming Album Zonoscope due to be released in early February. If this piece would be a haircut, it would surely look a bit as the hair quiff of Gave Gahan in the days of “Just Can’t Get Enough” with a slight touch of the mid Bono. Hence it loses a fictional competition with the previously streamed and released “Take Me Over” and first foretaste “Where I’m Going”.  Listen to the just mentioned two tracks, a remix Tim Goldsworthy here, where you’ll also find more album details and all tour dates.


Cut Copy : Need You Now (Stream)

Cut Copy

10:53 AM

Sweeping blow in the matter of Cut Copy: Since giving you first foretaste “Where I’m Going” a big bunch of following news has filled our inbox: new album title, track list, cover, release date and documentary plus tour dates and a first official single with a great, free remix. But let’s take one at a time:

Zonoscope, the follow-up of thrilling In Ghost Colours, will be released on February 4 by Modular in the mother country, on the 7th in Europe and on  the 8th in North America. The record will be adorned by an epic photo montage by Japanese artist Tsuneshisa Kimura, who died already back in 2008 but let New York’s skyline half vanish, half tower up between gigantic waterfalls  in his cycle Visual Scandals, among other things, thereby anticipating the optics of current disaster films as The Day After Tomorrow (2004). And all that back in 1979, i.e. without any Photoshop tricks. Already the 1984-album Red Sails in the Sunset of fellow Australian band Midnight Oil got a malpais vision of Sydney by Kimura on its cover.

In musically terms, Zonoscope will be filled with eleven tracks (see the complete listing at the bottom), all produced by Cut Copy’s own Dan Whitford and pointing into a new direction. His bandmate Tim Hoey told SPIN.com on the new sound: “We certainly are using all sorts of electronic instruments, more synthesizers, computers, all of that, but contrasted with more organic sounds, more organic percussion.”

Besides a newly mixed version of “Where I’m Going” (Hoey: “[It’s] more chant-y, kind of tribal, and probably less pop than the version that came out a couple of months ago.”) the album will include first and already released single “Take Me Over”, exemplarily representing the musical development while underlining, not only with a favourable guitar intro and chorus, the trio’s flourishing pop sense and creating a refreshing contrast to HURTS’ pathos, that was all over 2010.  Furthermore, Tim Goldsworthy, recently more or less departed (former) DFA team member and producer of In Ghost Colours, took his moniker Thee Loving Hand to contribute an extensive, ten-and-a-half-minute long remix (Cut Copy: “[It’s] designed for a new futuristic main room that fits over the top of the old main room.”), which honours all the track’s promises in advance and club format.


Cut Copy : Take Me Over (Thee Loving Hand Remix) (Download)


Cut Copy : Take Me Over (Albumversion; alternativ: Radio Edit)

Currently still enjoying the summer in Down Under (and touring there), Cut Copy will be back in Europe for spring to play the new work live. More gigs, including the yet lacking Poland, Spain and Ireland, shall follow soon – see all dates at the end.

And if your can’t wait until then: Here’s three-part video documentary “Skies of the Ape”, in which Australian music video maker duo Krozm pictures the recording process of Zonoscope. Watch the first part below, the second here and the third here. A longer version with more material, called “Artificial Interpreter”, will be offered with the album’s deluxe edition. Krozm recently directed Miami Horror’s “Holidays” and have previously worked with the likes of Jet, Midnight Juggernauts and, yes, Cut Copy.

Cut Copy Zonoscope:
1. Need You Now
2. Take Me Over
3. Where I’m Going
4. Pharaohs & Pyramids
5. Blink and You’ll Miss a Revolution
6. Strange Nostalgia for the Future
7. This is All We’ve Got
8. Alisa
9. Hanging Onto Every Heartbeat
10. Corner of the Sky
11. Sun God

Cut Copy live 2011:
03.03. Glasgow, Death Disco Special
05.03. Manchester, Now Wave @ Quay House
06.03. London, The Forum
08.03. Oslo, Rockerfeller
09.03. Malmo, KB
10.03. Copenhagen, VEGA
11.03. Stockholm, The Strand
12.03. Helsinki, House of Culture
14.03. Tallin, Rock Café
16.03. Berlin, Lido
17.03. Cologne, Gebaeude 9
18.03. Amsterdam, Melkweg
19.03. Paris, Casino Nouveau
23.03. Lisbon, Coliseum

Cut Copy “Where I’m Going”

12:57 AM

When Cut Copy‘s second LP In Ghost Colours first hit our ears, we might have not rated it 10 out of 10 initially, but in the end it turned out to be one of our most heard and most valued records of the entire, just-passed decade. Too catchy were their hooks, too clever their attempt towards pop music.

Now, in 2010, the trio gives us their new song “Where I’m Going” for free. And to stick with this image for a moment: their are treading quite new paths here. This piece is a less-subtle-than-before, but straight, psychedelic jam even including an organ intermezzo. It no longer sounds like the beach of Melbourne, but like a modern love letter written on a nostalgic postcard from the Californian West Coast. Summertime will show, how far we can travel with it. For now, prospects are good.

Catch “Where I’m Going” either here or through the form below. See all live-dates (including their Lovebox appearance in London) at the end.

Cut Copy live:

16.07. Super Bock Super Rock, Lisbon, Portugal
17.07. Benicassium Festival, Valencia, Spain
18.07. Lovebox Festival, London, United Kingdom
20.07. Tripod, Dublin, Ireland
22.07. Amsterdam, the Netherlands with French Horn Rebellion
24.07. H20 Beach, Mamaia, Romania
25.07. Palladium, Warsaw, Poland with French Horn Rebellion
27.07. Tavastia Helsinki, Finland with French Horn Rebellion
29.07. Emmabodafestivalen, Emmaboda, Sweden
30.07. Train, Arhus, Denmark
31.07. Rockafeller, Oslo, Norway

Posts Tagged ‘Cut Copy’

Melt! Festival 2011

20:24

Wie bereits im Jahr 2009 und 2010 haben wir euch auch in diesem Jahr wieder mit den wichtigsten und aktuellsten Infos direkt vom Melt!-Festival versorgt. Im gegensatz zu den Jahren zuvor orientierte sich das Festival wieder stärker an seinen elektronischen Wurzeln, doch dies tat seiner Beliebtheit keinen Abbruch. Und so war das melt! auch in diesem wieder Jahr komplett ausverkauft. Trotz der elektronischen Renaissance mit Paul Kalkbrenner, The Koletzkis, DJ Kotze, Boys Noize und vielen mehr waren die Headliner altbekannte Indie-Recken: Pulp.  Eine kleine Rundreise über sämtliche Bühnen des Festivals bietet euch die Galerie zum Melt!.

[nggallery id=87]

Fotos: Christoph Paul

Cut Copy : Need You Now

09:00

Etwas New-New-Romantic aus Australien gefällig? Cut Copy veröffentlichen mit “Need You Now” die zweite Single aus ihrem Anfang Februar erscheinenden Album Zonoscope. Als Frisur wäre das Lied wohl der Schmalztolle von Dave Gahan zu Zeiten von “Just Can’t Get Enough” nicht unähnlich, ein bisschen Bono wäre wohl auch dabei, so dass es leider gegenüber den beiden bisher bekannten bzw. veröffentlichten Albumstücken “Take Me Over” und “Where I’m Going” etwas abfällt. Das angesprochene Duo zum Vergleich, einen Remix von Tim Goldsworthy und alle weiteren Albuminformationen sowie Tourtermine findet ihr hier.


Cut Copy : Need You Now (Stream)

Cut Copy

10:53

Rundumschlag in Sachen Cut Copy: Seitdem wir über den ersten Vorgeschmack “Where I’m Going” der drei Australier zu ihrem neuen, dritten Album schrieben, hat sich so einiges angesammelt: Albumtitel (in doppelter Hinsicht), -Cover, -Veröffentlichungstermin, -Dokumentation, Tourdaten sowie eine neue Single samt – soviel sei vorweggenommen – famosem Remix. Aber der Reihe nach:

Zonoscope, der Nachfolger des mitreißenden Zweitwerks In Ghost Colours, wird im Mutterland am 4. Februar von Modular veröffentlicht und 7. bzw. 8. des Monats folgen dann Europa und Nordamerika. Zieren wird das Werk eine nahezu epische Photomontage des 2008 verstorbenen japanischen Künstlers Tsunehisa Kimura, der in seinem Zirkel Visual Scandals 1979, sprich: ganz ohne Photoshop, die New Yorker Skyline zwischen riesigen Wasserfällen halb verschwinden, halb emporragen ließ und somit jüngere Katastrophenfilme wie The Day After Tomorrow (2004) optisch vorwegnahm. Bereits auf dem 1984er Album Red Sails in the Sunset der ebenfalls australischen Midnight Oil war ein von Kimura in eine Kraterlandschaft versetztes Sydney zu sehen.

Zu hören sein werden auf Zonoscope insgesamt elf Stücke (Liste am Artikelende), allesamt von Cut Copys Dan Whitford selbst produziert. Sein Kollege Tim Hoey umschrieb gegenüber SPIN.com die neue Richtung: “We certainly are using all sorts of electronic instruments, more synthesizers, computers, all of that, but contrasted with more organic sounds, more organic percussion.”

Neben einer neu abgemischten Version von “Where I’m Going” (Hoey: “[It’s] more chant-y, kind of tribal, and probably less pop than the version that came out a couple of months ago.”) befindet sich auf dem Album auch die erste, bereits veröffentlichte Single “Take Me Over”, die exemplarisch für die musikalische Entwicklung steht und nicht nur dank gefälligem Gitarrenintro das noch florierende Popgespür des Trio unterstreicht, die damit anno 2010 auch einen erfrischenden Kontrastpunkt zum Pathos von HURTS setzen. Und Tim Goldsworthy, der das Debütalbum noch produziert hatte und Anfang des Jahres mehr oder weniger das Produktionsteam des New Yorker DFA Labels verließ, steuert diesmal als Thee Loving Hand noch einen raumgreifenden, zehneinhalbminütigen Remix des Stücks (Cut Copy: “[It’s] designed for a new futuristic main room that fits over the top of the old main room.”) bei, der alle Verheißungen des Titels schon vorab im Clubformat einlöst.


Cut Copy : Take Me Over (Thee Loving Hand Remix) (Download)


Cut Copy : Take Me Over (Albumversion; alternativ: Radio Edit)

Jetzt genießen sie noch den australischen Sommer, aber schon im europäischen Frühling sind Cut Copy auf dem alten Kontinent live zugegen. Die dabei zunächst noch ausgesparten Länder Polen, Spanien und Irland sollen später folgen. Alle Termine am Ende.

Wer sich bis dahin nicht gedulden mag, kann sich zudem noch die dreiteilige Videodokumentation “Skies of the Ape” über die Aufnahmen von Zonoscope anschauen, die das australische Musikvideofilmerduo Krozm gestaltet hat. Den ersten Teil gibt es nachfolgend zu sehen, Teil 2 und 3 hier bzw. hier. Eine “Artificial Interpreter” genannte Langfassung mit weiterem Material wird der Deluxe-Edition des Albums beiliegen. Krozm hatten zuletzt Miami Horrors “Holidays” realisiert, drehten aber auch schon für und mit u.a. Jet, Midnight Juggernauts und eben Cut Copy.

Cut Copy Zonoscope:
1. Need You Now
2. Take Me Over
3. Where I’m Going
4. Pharaohs & Pyramids
5. Blink and You’ll Miss a Revolution
6. Strange Nostalgia for the Future
7. This is All We’ve Got
8. Alisa
9. Hanging Onto Every Heartbeat
10. Corner of the Sky
11. Sun God

Cut Copy live 2011:
03.03. Glasgow, Death Disco Special
05.03. Manchester, Now Wave @ Quay House
06.03. London, The Forum
08.03. Oslo, Rockerfeller
09.03. Malmo, KB
10.03. Copenhagen, VEGA
11.03. Stockholm, The Strand
12.03. Helsinki, House of Culture
14.03. Tallin, Rock Café
16.03. Berlin, Lido
17.03. Cologne, Gebaeude 9
18.03. Amsterdam, Melkweg
19.03. Paris, Casino Nouveau
23.03. Lisbon, Coliseum

Cut Copy “Where I’m Going”

00:57

Als wir 2008 erstmals Cut Copys zweites Album In Ghost Colours lauschten, hätten wir ihm wohl nicht unbedingt direkt die Bestnote verpasst, aber irgendwie haben es die 15 Songs dann doch geschafft, zu einem unserer meistgehörten und vor allem meistgeschätzten Alben der gesamten, gerade vergangenen Dekade zu mutieren. Zu eingängig waren ihre Hooklines, zu clever die gelegte Verführung zur Popmusik.

Nun im Jahre 2010 schenkt uns das Trio das neue Stück “Where I’m Going” und, um einmal bei diesem Bild zu bleiben,:  Es sind schon ziemlich neue Pfade, die sie hier bewandern. Das hier ist ein wenig unterschwelliger, dafür jedoch ziemlich direkter und psychedelischer Jam samt Orgelintermezzo. Nach den Stränden der australischen Heimat Melbourne klingt kaum noch etwas, vieles erinnert eher an einen modernen Liebesgruß verfasst auf einer nostalgischen Postkarte der kalifornischen Westküste. Der Sommer wird nun zeigen, wie lange die gemeinsame Reise andauern wird. Für den Moment scheinen die Aussichten aber schon einmal recht gut.

Kostenlos herunterladen könnt ihr euch “Where I’m Going” entweder hier oder mittels der Form hierunter. Alle Konzertdaten (einschließlich eines Londoner Auftritts beim Lovebox Festival, aber leider ohne Deutschlandtermine) findet ihr am Ende.

Cut Copy live:
16.07. Super Bock Super Rock, Lissabon, Portugal
17.07. Benicassium Festival, Valencia, Spanien
18.07. Lovebox Festival, London, United Kingdom
20.07. Tripod, Dublin, Irland
22.07. Amsterdam, Niederlande mit French Horn Rebellion
24.07. H20 Beach, Mamaia, Rumänien
25.07. Palladium, Warschau, Polen mit French Horn Rebellion
27.07. Tavastia Helsinki, Finnland mit French Horn Rebellion
29.07. Emmabodafestivalen, Emmaboda, Schweden
30.07. Train, Arhus, Dänemark
31.07. Rockafeller, Oslo, Norwegen